PSG vs Shakhtar: preview

On Matchday 6 of the Champions League group stage Shakhtar will face PSG. We bring you the preview of the match.

8 December, Paris, Parc des Princes, 21:45
Live broadcast on Ukraina and Futbol 1 channels


Real Madrid and PSG have already advanced to the knockout round from the group stage. Real Madrid are still the only team who beat PSG in the Champions League. In the current edition of the Champions League, the Paris side have not suffered a single defeat: 2-0 win over Malmo and 0-0 against Real Madrid.

In the French league, PSG are performing really well. The team are enjoying a 15-point lead: they have 14 wins, 3 draws and 0 losses. It should be noted that Angers, who are now going second, recently managed to remain undefeated in the home match against PSG. However, it was a one-off result, the Paris team are confidently moving towards another league title.

On 4 December, Blanc’s charges got a confident win over Nice, and the team’s leader Zlatan Ibrahimovic sealed his brace to become the team’s record holder for the highest number of goals scored in Ligue 1.

Before match

Before the final round of the group stage, Shakhtar’s main task is to finish third, which allows to compete in the Europa League. To do that, Malmo must not take more points in Madrid than the Pitmen in Paris.

It should be noted that Oleksandr Kucher and Taras Stepanenko served their suspensions on matchday 5. Both of them have chances to play with PSG.

Referee - Anthony Taylor (England)
Assistant referees - Stuart Barry, Gary Biswick (both - England)
Additional assistant referess - Andre Marriner, Robert Medley (both - England)
Sixth official - Michael Salisbury (England)
Referee observer - Frank De Bleeckere (Belgium)

Previous match

September 30, 2015. 2nd round

Shakhtar 0-3 PSG

Goals: 0:1 Ore (7), 0:2 David Luiz (23), 0:3 Srna (90, own goal)

Shakhtar: Pyatov, Srna (c), Kucher, Rakitskiy, Shevchuk, Malyshev, Fred, Marlos (Kovalenko, 71), Teixeira, Taison (Bernard, 71), Gladkyy (Dentinho, 85)

Booked: Ibrahimovic (65), David Luiz (86), Thiago Silva (89)