Genk

Paul Onuachu (39)

UEFA Champions League

1 - 2

Tuesday, August 3, 2021 9:00 PM
KRC Genk Arena

Shakhtar

Tete (63, pen.) Alan Patrick (81)

Preview

August 3, Genk, Genk Arena, 21:00

Match build-up

For the 13th time in their history, Shakhtar will make their way to the Champions League group stage through qualifying rounds. The first occasion happened over 20 years ago when the Orange-and-Blacks made it past Estonia’s Levadia and the Czech Republic’s Slavia. The last attempt dates back to 2016 when the team under Paulo Fonseca lost to Young Boys on penalties.

This is the first start in European competitions for Roberto De Zerbi as a coach. On the matchday’s eve, Shakhtar head coach noted that he always feels some excitement, but has confidence in himself and the team. 24 footballers have arrived in Genk:

goalkeepers: Shevchenko, Pyatov, Trubin;

defenders: Dodo, Vitao, Kryvtsov, Marlon, Matviienko, Konoplia, Ismaily, Korniienko;

midfielders: Stepanenko, Maycon, Marcos Antonio, Marlos, Tete, Bondarenko, Solomon, Mudryk, Alan Patrick, Sudakov, Pedrinho;

forwards: Dentinho, Traore.

Shakhtar are approaching the European club cup challenge after two victories in the Ukrainian league: over Inhulets (2-1) and Lviv (3-0). In both matches, goals were netted by the team’s recently-signed striker Lassina Traore, with the rest of the goals being scored by Brazilians Alan Patrick, Dentinho and Pedrinho.

Opponents

Genk kicked off the season on July 17 with a Super Cup tie, with the trophy going to Club Brugge. Belgium’s vice-champions scored an opener in the 44th minute (Theo Bongonda), but the score got even just before the break (Club Brugge equalized in stoppage time). Early in the second half, Maarten Vandevoordt had to take the ball out of the net twice (on 48 and 50 minutes). At the very end of the match, Genk reduced the gap to a minimum thanks to the precision shot by the Finn Jere Uronen.

Then followed the league season start which also did not work out for Genk. In Liege vs Standard, Shakhtar's opponents escaped defeat in injury time - Bongonda scored after linking up with Cyriel Dessers. And on the MD2, Genk suffered a 3-4 home defeat at the hands of Oostende, taking the lead twice during the match (2-0 and 3-2). The first goal belongs to Brian Heinen, with the double being scored by Bongonda who is in great shape.

Genk have not appeared in the Champions League qualifying rounds for nine years. In 2011, the Belgians passed two rounds on their way to the group stage, leaving behind the Belgrade-based Partizan and Maccabi Haifa. And in the 2019/20 season, Genk got directly into the group stage as the champions of Belgium – their rivals were Liverpool, Napoli and Salzburg. As a result, Genk claimed one point against the Neapolitans at home.

Genk Vs. Shakhtar history

Recent games
W W

UEFA Champions League

Tue 03

Aug 2021

21:00

KRC Genk Arena

Referee: Tasos Sidiropoulos

Man of the Match

Marlos
Marlos
P TEAM P W D L F A PNT
1 Sheriff 1 1 0 0 2 0 3
2 Real 1 1 0 0 1 0 3
3 Internazionale 1 0 0 1 0 1 0
4 Shakhtar 1 0 0 1 0 2 0

Генк

Пол Онуачу (39)

Лига чемпионов УЕФА

1 - 2

3 августа 2021 г. 21:00
Генк Арена

Шахтер

Тете (63, пен.) Алан Патрик (81)

Превью

3 августа, Генк, «Генк Арена», 21:00

Перед матчем

«Шахтер» в 13-й раз в истории будет пробиваться в групповой этап Лиги чемпионов через квалификацию. Первый был свыше 20 лет назад, когда «оранжево-черные» прошли эстонскую «Левадию» и чешскую «Славию». А крайняя попытка датирована 2016 годом, когда при Паулу Фонсеке команда в серии пенальти уступила «Янг Бойз».

Для Роберто Де Дзерби это первый старт в еврокубках в качестве наставника. Накануне матча главный тренер «Шахтера» отметил, что небольшое волнение всегда присутствует, но он уверен в себе и команде. В Генк прибыли 24 футболиста:

вратари: Шевченко, Пятов, Трубин;
защитники: Додо, Витао, Кривцов, Марлон, Матвиенко, Конопля, Исмаили, Корниенко;
полузащитники: Степаненко, Майкон, Маркос Антонио, Марлос, Тете, Бондаренко, Соломон, Мудрик, Алан Патрик, Судаков, Педриньо;
нападающие: Дентиньо, Траоре.

«Шахтер» подходит к еврокубковому вызову после двух побед в чемпионате Украины – над «Ингульцом» (2:1) и «Львовом» (3:0). В обоих матчах забивал дебютант команды, нападающий Лассина Траоре, остальные мячи на счету бразильцев Алана Патрика, Дентиньо и Педриньо.

Соперник

«Генк» начал сезон 17 июля поединком за Суперкубок – трофей достался «Брюгге». Вице-чемпионы Бельгии забили первыми на 44-й минуте (Тео Бонгонда), но на перерыв команды ушли при равном счете («Брюгге» сравнял в компенсированное время), а в начале второго тайма Маартен Вандервоордт дважды вынимал мяч из сетки (на 48-й и 50-й). Уже в самой концовке матча «Генк» сократил отставание до минимума благодаря точному удару финна Йере Уронена.

Дальше был старт чемпионата, который также не сложился для «Генка» гладко. В Льеже со «Стандардом» соперник «Шахтера» в те же компенсированные минуты ушел от поражения – Бонгонда забил с передачи Сириля Дессерса. А во 2-м туре «Генк» проиграл на своем поле «Остенде» 3:4, дважды ведя в счете в ходе матча (2:0 и 3:2). Первый гол в активе Брайана Хейнена, дубль оформил пребывающий в отличной форме Бонгонда.

В квалификации Лиги чемпионов «Генк» не играл 9 лет. В 2011 году бельгийцы преодолели на пути к групповому этапу два раунда, оставив за бортом белградский «Партизан» и «Маккаби» из Хайфы. А в сезоне-2019/20, который свежее в памяти, «Генк» попал в группу без отбора на правах чемпиона Бельгии – его соперниками там были «Ливерпуль», «Наполи» и «Зальцбург». Итогом явилось 1 очко, набранное с неаполитанцами дома.

Генк Vs. Шахтер история

Последние матчи
В В

Лига чемпионов УЕФА

Вт 03

авг 2021

21:00

Генк Арена

Главный арбитр: Тасос Сидиропулос

Лучший игрок

Marlos
Марлос
М КОМАНДА И В H П З П О
1 Шериф 3 2 0 1 5 4 6
2 Реал 3 2 0 1 7 2 6
3 Интер 3 1 1 1 3 2 4
4 Шахтер 3 0 1 2 0 7 1